Accutane. Boom. Intestinal Eater.

I knew it.

I wouldn’t touch the shaz.

I knew anything that did what accutane does to your body couldn’t be good for the whole of it. Your skin is an organ. The largest organ of our bodies. Anyway, do you know what I’m talking about? I’m amped. Typing four million miles a minute. This class action lawsuit against Accutane, because it has now been linked to some serious intestinal issues. Crohn’s Disease, which I had to look up. Dang. That’s no joke. Colitis, Rectal bleeding. The list goes on and on. Makes having zits seem like an enjoyable day in the park.

So. Once again, I’ve come full circle on hating my zits. My rite of passage. My character building spots o’ delight.

I researched this Accutane Class Action suit, and apparently, everything was drafted last year, in 2009, and they’ve just recently started advertising nationwide on TV. I caught the ad last night during the Celtics/Cavaliers game, and screamed…and started my research process.

“Mom! See! You’re trying to kill me with that stuff. I thought you loved me!!”

My mom is sensitive, so she didn’t take kindly to me rewinding it on the DVR and playing it over and over. Regardless, in my research I found that they are only interested in those who have had bowel injuries, or illnesses potentially related to Accutane.

I think this is the tip of the iceberg. The scratch on the surface. My Dad was telling me that he had a friend who was on the stuff, and she became like a different person. All depressed. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I have a feeling it won’t be long before doctors are no longer prescribing the stuff. It just doesn’t seem to make sense to chemically treat something anymore when there are so many more options. When I made that point, my Dad mentioned, “Son, that’s why they call it the practice of medicine.”

That was my epiphany of the week. Seriously. The practice of medicine. Not the perfection of medicine. I’m glad that I put more stock into finding natural cures and aids to problems. They have to be out there. They just do.

Anyway. If you’re reading this, and have been a loyal reader, don’t take Accutane!

Leave a Reply

