Break is HERE!!! Well, Figuratively…

Have you ever seen the movie Clockwatchers? It was a selection for Sundance back in the late 90s. I really like it, had seen it before, and our film class teach thought it would be funny to put on today. Do you get the irony? Because we’re all watching the clock? Well, the movie has Toni Collette, Parker Posey, Lisa Kudrow and some other gal, and it’s basically about working as a temp. If you don’t know what a temp is, it’s like a substitute employee in the professional world.

Anyway, it is kind of funny, because we’re all watching the clock. This is one of those days in which nothing is accomplished, and everyone is just ready to kick back, catch a flight, hit the road, hop the rails or stand and stare at the absurdity of public places like the mall…or Wal-Mart. AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! That’s one place I reserve for very late at night.

So. Our plans. I haven’t shared them, have I?

I’ll be going home this afternoon. I will take a shower, which I didn’t have time for this morning. I will wash my face and then look in the mirror when I’ll say to myself, “Someday, brother. Someday you’ll have clear skin, and you’ll be loved for it.” I will smile, then furrow my brow and walk away. I will enjoy Saturday. I will pack Saturday night. We will fly out on Sunday! Sunday night I’ll be cuddled up in the warm embrace of kith and kin, enjoying another Gristhwold Family Christhmath. It’ll be stellar.

Once I’m there, it’ll be wherever the wind and sledding opportunities lead me. And oh, from what I’ve heard, there are some epic sledding opportunities around every corner. My cousin says he has a “surprise.” I’m sure it’s an injury waiting to happen.

Leave a comment