Another Gun, Another Gold

Track meet last night. Another enjoyable race. Led from the get, and just put it on cruise. Not a mentionable time. It just didn’t take much to win it. I’ve been doing my time. Pushing hard in my own road work. Have been running in the morning, and then working with the sprinters a lot in the afternoon at track practice. I know people consider this a middle distance race, but the goal is to be able to pretty much run it in a top gear for two straight laps.

If you’re a fan of sports you might hear trainers, coaches and athletes talking about speed work as gears. Having that 4th, 5th and 6th gear? So, my training is basically working my body to be able to run in gears 4 and 5 for two laps, and then hit whatever is left of gear 6 to win every race. But to hit gear 6, you need to have a gear 6, so that’s why it is necessary to train with sprinters.

I miss Mags. How can I not? Absence definitely makes the heart grow fonder. And I’m not trying to mislead anyone in thinking that we don’t argue or have tiffs and all that stuff – we’re two opinionated, feisty people. I still don’t know what I’m going to do for the summer. Maggie still hasn’t made a decision on school for next fall. We’d like to spend some time together this summer, but I also kind of wanted to maybe try to get over to Colorado a bit early. My parents have talked about getting me a place to live for the summer – and then I could look into some local employment.

Shit, people. Excuse me. Sorry. I’m just realizing all the decisions I need to make in the next 6 weeks. Holy crap. I’m overwhelmed. Thank God for track right now. How impressive is that? I’m thanking God and dropping the $ bomb in the same paragraph. I think that makes me a stereotypical teen. Or…a human being. Yep. Here come the zits.

Leave a Reply

