I Knew These Zits Meant Something…

I had to turn around and head back to Arizona this weekend. Strange unfolding of circumstances. It was like my body knew it before it happened. My face broke out, pretty bad. Probably all the traveling and excess around Thanksgiving. Wow. Thanksgiving already seems like it was months ago. Last Monday I got a call that my grandma, not the one in Wisconsin – rather Arizona, was not doing very well – turned out that was an understatement. She died later that night.

I pushed through classes M – TR, and then hopped back in the car and went back to Phoenix Thursday afternoon. Maggie had a bunch of stuff planned, and I didn’t want her to cancel, so she stayed. She had met this grandma, but I dunno, I just didn’t see the point of dragging her down there.

So. Now, apparently, my zits are prophetic. When something bad is gonna happen they get gnarly. I get back home, and my little brother says to me, “You look like hell…” Thanks, little man. That’s how it goes, I suppose. The siblings will always tell you the truth as they see it.

Our relationship with this grandma had been a little strained. Very unfortunate, actually. My Dad’s mom. He took it tough. My grandparents divorced when I was really young. My dad kind of took sides. Of course the relationship continued to exist with both parties, but where my grandpa stayed in our lives until he passed away several years ago, my grandma was only here and there. With us going to Wisconsin nearly every Christmas it just offered for a strange dynamic. So. To say the least, I’m sure there’s a boat load of stories that I’ve missed, and the second side to the story of what happened with my pops and grams.

Happy to be back. Ready for finals to begin! Let’s get it on. …and f*** these zits!

Leave a Reply

