Famaree

I remember when my little sis couldn’t say family. I know. I know. You thought I was making fun of Asian people whose first language is not English. No, no. If that were the case, I would have used something that possessed the letter L. It’s always good to have the whole family together. Such a great energy. I love this group of people, what can I say? I don’t know if I’ve mentioned in the past two years that we always do our Christmas presents on Christmas Day with everyone there… so literally, everyone brings all of their presents, and I’m telling you, you’ve never seen a stash like this. It’s quite absurd. There are probably 20-25 of us on any given year… plus presents… amazing.

Losing my other grandma earlier this month really got me to thinking about how special these occasions are. When I talk about them, I get that nobody can quite understand what I’m say. The sheer magnitude. AND, the coolest thing for me is that Maggie and her family are all joining us this year. Our parents have become pretty tight due to our relationship, and got each other presents this year, so they’re doing something with Mags Dad’s side of the family on Christmas Eve, which I’m joining for, and then they’re all coming to my grandparent’s place on Christmas morning.

We generally get together mid-morning, rap, play games, watch TV, sports, then have a nice brunch/lunch, lounge for awhile and open gifts. If I’ve offered all this info. before…I’ve just wasted 45 seconds of your time.

Every year someone says something about my complexion, and I snap at them, but I think with Mags being around this year, people will try to embarrass me in other ways. Not humiliate me. Just razz me. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

