Sledding 2.0

Oh my gosh. Fair enough, they’re “you’re had to be there” moments… but man, are they awesome!

My cousin basically built a poor man’s version of a bobsled track. When all that snow nailed the northern states last week, and the week before, he went out and started molding track banks with curves and all kinds of stuff close to his place. He then took squirt bottles filled with hot water and started spraying down the surface, creating a flash melt, and then a freeze that made an ice surface.

The only catch to sliding this track is that you need some protective equipment. When you get bumped otherwise, it hurts. So, multiple layers of clothing, plus thick gloves and some knee pads did the trick.

We were trying to break speed records. One of our cousins plays baseball and has a radar gun. Our goal is to hit 40 mph before the end of the break. We haven’t broken 30 yet, and I gotta say, on a sled, it’s terrifying. I was mostly shocked that the girls were so into it. When we’d come up short of a top speed, they’d boo us, and then cheer loudly when we’d break our personal record. Then they’d hop in the sled and go putting down the track, all cute and stuff…

I don’t think I’ll ever get too old to enjoy this. My dad is actually gearing up to join us, since there was a little precip. that came through yesterday. He was hilarious when we went to the local sporting goods joint looking for knee pads. “I can’t hurt my knees, boy. What are the best ones?”

Once the sun has dropped, that’s when we hit it. It’s just more enjoyable. There’s nobody out, and you own the night. Yeah, that was dorky. Peace. I’m off!

Merry Christmas, btw. Happy Holidays to anyone that offends, but if it offends you, seriously, get over yourself.